The Scientific Council


The Scientific Council gives its opinion on IRSN’s programs. It assesses their results and is able to provide recommendations on the direction of the institute’s activities. It may be consulted by the Board’s chairperson or by the supervisory ministers on any subject within the Institute’s remit. Its opinion may be sought on any issue or project involving IRSN.
The Scientific Council meets twice a year in plenary session and may also meet, at its convenience, in a closed session, possibly extended to external experts in order to review a research theme or program more precisely.

Members (as of september 28, 2021)

Robert BAROUKI, Lecturer in Biochemistry at Paris University and Head of the Inserm T3S “Toxicology, Therapeutic Targets, Cellular Signaling and Biomarkers” Unit, Head of the Clinical Metabolomics and Proteomics Biochemistry Department at Necker Children’s Hospital; Chairman of the Scientific Council

Jean-Christophe AMABILE, Chief Medical Officer, Full Professor at the Military School of Val-de-Grâce, Director of the French Defense Radiation Protection Service (SPRA)

Christine ARGILLIER, Research Director and Deputy Scientific Director of the AQUA Department at the French National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and Environment (INRAE)

Bernard BONIN, Scientific Advisor for the Energy Division of the French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)

Alain KAUFMANN, Director of the ColLaboratory, a collaborative and participatory action research unit at Lausanne University (Switzerland)

Louis LAURENT, Scientific Director at the French National Research and Safety Institute for the Prevention of Occupational Accidents and Diseases (INRS)

Elsa MERLE, Lecturer at the PHELMA Engineering School of the Grenoble Institute of Technology

Michèle SEBAG, Research Director at the French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), Interdisciplinary Laboratory of Digital Sciences of Paris-Saclay University

Pierre TOULHOAT, Chairman of the Environment and Climate Change Division at the French National Academy of Technologies

Marc VERWERFT, Head of the nuclear fuels group at the Studiecentrum voor Kernenergie (Belgian Nuclear Research Center), Public Interest Foundation, SCK CEN (Belgium)

Denis VEYNANTE, Research Director at the French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), macroscopic molecular and combustion laboratory, CentraleSupélec, Deputy Director of the Open Data for Research Department of the CNRS